Nanotechnology and Innovation in the Baltic Sea Region


International Conference "Nanotechnology and Innovation in the Baltic Sea Region"
at the NanoBioMedical Centre, Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznań


2019 NIBS Annual Conference

What is NIBS?
The NIBS is conference organized by the Mads Clausen Institute at the University of Southern Denmark, the Kaunas University of Technology, Lithuania, the North German Initiative Nanotechnology Schleswig-Holstein e.V. (NINa SH eV) network, and the Kiel University, Germany.

Attendees from industry, academia and municipalities are invited to enter in a dialogue about the potential for interdisciplinary applications and new products from nanotechnology.

NIBS offers:

  • state-of-the-art stimulating presentations
  • matchmaking events
  • a dialogue platform between experienced and young researchers from industry and academia


NIBS provides presentations from companies and research institutions on current trends in the field of nanotechnology. Companies have the opportunity to communicate their success stories and the newest developments in-house. Young scientists present their work and find entrepreneurial opportunities.


Previous NIBS conference editions:


In contrast to national conferences, NIBS brings together researchers and business stakeholders from the Baltic Sea Region (BSR), as well as parties involved in the cooperation with the BSR partners to share latest achievements in research, innovative solutions and applications in the field of nanotechnology. In contrast to large scale international conferences, NIBS focuses on the BSR, where the innovation potential from newest technologies is utmost high.

The NIBS conference offers an ideal opportunity to increase your visibility as a scientist, company or other stakeholder in the field of nanotechnology within the Baltic Sea region. You can benefit from an active regional nanotechnology network and get a perfect stage to initiate new projects or start-ups and find new partners and customers, respectively.

Call for contributions
The conference is running on three topical days: NIBS Innovation Day (Wednesday, 5th June), Joint Symposium (Thursday, 6th June) and Joint Young Researchers Forum (Saturday, 8th June)
Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:


  • Plasmonics
  • Functional Nanomaterials
  • Nanotech for Food
  • Nanotech for Energy



  1. Prof. Dr. Thorsten M. Buzug, Institute of Medical Engineering Univerity of Lübeck, Germany
    Magnetic Particle Imaging
  2. Prof. Dr. Alexandre Dmitriev, Deparment of Physics, University of Gothenburg, Sweden
    Magnetic, chemical and electrical steering of light at the nanoscale
  3. Dr. Sandra Hansen, Kiel University, Germany
    Silicon anodes as alternative anode material for battery technology
  4. Prof. Dr. Thomas Klassen, Institute for Materials Research, Helmholtz-Zentrum Geesthacht Centre for Materials and Coastal Research GmbH, Germany
    Nanostructured Materials for Hydrogen Technology: Key to Sustainable Energy and Mobility




  1. Dr. Mindaugas Bulota, Kaunas University of Technology, Lithuania
    Technology transfer as innovation facilitator
  2. Dr. Iris Hölken, Phi-Stone AG, Germany
    Ultra strong metal-polymer adhesion by nanoscale sculpturing
  3. Dr. Šarūnas Meškinis, Institute of Materials Science, of Kaunas University Technology, Lithuania
    Direct synthesis of the graphene on Si(100) for photovoltaic and photoelectric applications
  4. Dr. Christian Ohrt, North German Initiative Nanotechnology (NINa SH e.V.), Germany
    Successful networking at the North - the nanotechnology network NINa
  5. Dr. Agnieszka Sozańska, Renishaw Sp. Z o.o., Poland
    3D Raman and SERS imaging for life science application
  6. Prof. Ashok Vaseashtaa, ICWI, VA and NJCU – A State University of New Jersey, NJ, USA
    Smart and Connected Unmanned Aerial Surveillance Nano-sensor Based Platforms for Situational Awareness
  7. M.Sc. Salih Veziroglu, Christian Albrechts University of Kiel, Germany
    Nanostructured Thin Films with Enhanced Self-Cleaning and Photocatalytic Properties


Organizing Committee of the NIBS 2019


  • Prof. Stefan Jurga, NBMC AMU
  • Prof. Horst-Günter Rubahn, SDU
  • Prof. Sigitas Tamulevičius, KTU/LT-MRS
  • Prof. Franz Faupel, CAU/NINa SH
  • Dr. eng. Dorota Flak, NBMC AMU
  • Dr. Christian Ohrt, CAU/NINa SH
  • Assoc. Prof. Jacek Fiutowski, SDU






download print ready version - 





download print ready version -